Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: nid in views_handler_field_term_node_tid->pre_render() (line 98 of /mnt/www/html/the186qfgn3wa2z/docroot/sites/all/modules/views/modules/taxonomy/
  • Notice: Undefined index: nid in views_handler_field_term_node_tid->pre_render() (line 98 of /mnt/www/html/the186qfgn3wa2z/docroot/sites/all/modules/views/modules/taxonomy/

Spain World Cup Qualifying Squad Has Room For Pedri, But Not The World’s Most Expensive Keeper

Pedri joins Robert Sánchez, Bryan Gil and Pedro Porro as the uncapped players in the side.

MADRID - Luis Enrique has named four uncapped players in Spain's 24-man squad for the upcoming triple header of World Cup qualifiers against Greece, Georgia and Kosovo later this month.

Barcelona's 18-year-old forward Pedri, Brighton & Hove Albion goalkeeper Robert Sánchez, Eibar attacker Bryan Gil and fullback Pedro Porro of Sporting are the new faces in a squad that only contains six players from Spain's “big three” clubs.

One of them is Barça defender Jordi Alba, who returns to the fold for the first time since Enrique resumed coaching duties in late 2019. His teammate Pedri has been one of the breakout stars of this LaLiga campaign, making 26 LaLiga appearances in his debut season.

Sánchez's inclusion means that Chelsea's Kepa Arrizabalaga - the world's most expensive goalkeeper - has been left out of the squad and his place at this summer's European Championship looks to be under serious threat. Tottenham's Sergio Reguilón has also been omitted.

Manchester City's Eric García is included despite being frozen out at the Etihad by Pep Guardiola following a contract stand-off, while Liverpool's Thiago Alcântara and captain Sergio Ramos return to the fold after injury lay-offs.

2021 Spain World Cup Qualifying Squad

Goalkeepers: David de Gea (Manchester United), Robert Sánchez (Brighton), Unai Simón (Athletic Bilbao)

Defenders: Pedro Porro (Sporting), Eric García (Man City), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Diego Llorente (Leeds United), Iñigo Martínez (Athletic Bilbao), Jordi Alba (Barcelona), José Gayà (Valencia)

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Rodri (Man City), Thiago (Liverpool), Pedri (Barcelona), Marcos Llorente (Atlético Madrid), Sergio Canales (Real Betis), Koke (Atlético Madrid), Fabián Ruiz (Napoli)

Forwards: Gerard Moreno (Villarreal), Ferran Torres (Man City), Mikel Oyarzabal (Real Sociedad), Álvaro Morata (Juventus), Bryan Gil (Eibar), Dani Olmo (RB Leipzig)

(Reporting by Joseph Walker Editing by Christian Radnedge)

Videos you might like