Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: nid in views_handler_field_term_node_tid->pre_render() (line 98 of /var/www/html/docroot/sites/all/modules/views/modules/taxonomy/
  • Notice: Undefined index: nid in views_handler_field_term_node_tid->pre_render() (line 98 of /var/www/html/docroot/sites/all/modules/views/modules/taxonomy/


Spain confirms 15 players will be left off women's team roster for friendlies vs. USWNT and Sweden

MADRID — Spain women's coach Jorge Vilda on Friday left out of his squad the 15 players who have reportedly told the Spanish FA (RFEF) they would quit international duty while he is in charge.

According to sources close to the situation, the players are unhappy with the management of injuries, the atmosphere in the locker room, Vilda's team selection and training sessions.

He announced a list of 23 players to face Sweden and the United States on Oct. 3 and 11 respectively.

Vilda omitted regulars including Barca's Patri Guijarro, Mapi Leon, Claudia Pina, Aitana Bonmati, Mariona Caldentey, Sandra Panos, Atletico Madrid's Ainhoa Moraza and Lola Gallardo, Manchester United's Ona Batlle and Lucia Garcia, Manchester City's Leila Ouahabi and Laia Aleixandri and Real Sociedad's Nerea Eizaguirre and Amaiur Sarriegi, who are reportedly the 15 players in dispute with the Spanish FA.

The best women's player in the world, Barcelona attacking midfielder Alexia Putellas, who has supported her teammates, was also not called up but she is recovering from injury.

Five players have been called up for the first time - Enith Salon, Ana Tejada, Maria Mendez, Nuria Rabano and Ane Azcona - and only two Barcelona players are included - Nuria Rabano and Salma Paralluelo, who is currently injured.

The RFEF, which has not officially disclosed the identities of the 15 players in the dispute, said it fully supported the coach and that the players will only return to the squad if they "recognize their mistake and ask for forgiveness".

Spain Women's Roster


  • Misa Rodríguez (Real Madrid)
  • Sun Quinones (Athletic)
  • Enith Salon (Valencia)


  • Sheila García (Atletico)
  • Oihane Hernandez (Athletic)
  • Ivana Andres (Real Madrid)
  • Ana Tejada (Real Sociedad)
  • Rocio Galvez (Real Madrid)
  • Maria Mendez (Levante)
  • Olga Carmona (Real Madrid)
  • Nuria Rabano (Barcelona)


  • Teresa Abelleira (Real Madrid)
  • Anna Torroda (Valencia)
  • Maitane Lopez (Atletico)
  • Maite Oroz (Real Madrid)
  • Irene Guerrero (Atletico)
  • Claudia Zornoza (Real Madrid)


  • Marta Cardona (Real Madrid)
  • Ane Azcona (Athletic)
  • Esther Gonzalez (Real Madrid)
  • Alba Redondo (Levante)
  • Athenea del Castillo (Real Madrid)
  • Salma Paralluelo (Barcelona)

(Reporting by Fernando Kallas; Editing by Ken Ferris)

Videos you might like