Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: nid in views_handler_field_term_node_tid->pre_render() (line 98 of /var/www/html/docroot/sites/all/modules/views/modules/taxonomy/
  • Notice: Undefined index: nid in views_handler_field_term_node_tid->pre_render() (line 98 of /var/www/html/docroot/sites/all/modules/views/modules/taxonomy/


Senegal put FOUR past Brazil as Sadio Mané scores a brace

Brazil's legendary national team has played 89 different countries over the course of its storied history but only two nations have managed to face the Seleção without tasting defeat. Norway, surprisingly, has a record of two wins and two draws against Brazil (including a famous victory at the '98 World Cup), and the other nation actually beat them on Tuesday: Senegal.

The Lions of Teranga had only previously faced the Canarinho once, pulling off a 1-1 draw in Singapore back in 2019. On Tuesday the nations met again at Estádio José Alvalade in Lisbon, Portugal, and the African champions piled more misery on a Brazil team that's now lost two of three since the World Cup (Morocco also beat them back in March).

Although Neymar's still out with an ankle injury, this was effectively Brazil's A-team with Vini Jr feeding Lucas Paquetá for the opening goal in the 11th minute. But that initial joy wouldn't last long as Senegal scored three unanswered, including a beautiful Sadio Mané strike in the 55th minute to make it 3-1.

Marquinhos pulled one back for Brazil shortly after that to make it 3-2, but Mané scored a second from the spot for a final scoreline of 4-2.

Brazil, currently under the caretaker leadership of U-20 coach Ramon Menezes, desperately need an actual manager and a sense of direction.

With Morocco and Senegal both earning wins over Brazil, it's time to start dreaming of January's Africa Cup of Nations.

After becoming the first African nation to ever reach the World Cup semifinals, Morocco also became the first country to book their place at AFCON (other than the host nation Ivory Coast). Senegal wasn't far behind, and we now know 15 of the 24 competing nations (including seven-time champs Egypt).

Qualified teams for AFCON

  • Ivory Coast
  • Morocco
  • Algeria
  • South Africa
  • Senegal
  • Burkina Faso
  • Tunisia
  • Egypt
  • Zambia
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Nigeria
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Cape Verde
  • Mali
  • Guinea

Videos you might like