Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: nid in views_handler_field_term_node_tid->pre_render() (line 98 of /var/www/html/docroot/sites/all/modules/views/modules/taxonomy/
  • Notice: Undefined index: nid in views_handler_field_term_node_tid->pre_render() (line 98 of /var/www/html/docroot/sites/all/modules/views/modules/taxonomy/


A World Cup champion leads MLS All-Star squad vs. Arsenal – and no, it's not Messi

MLS revealed the 26-player roster for the upcoming All-Star Game against Arsenal, which will be played in Washington D.C. on July 19. 

The list includes a World Cup champion, but before you get all excited, that man is not Lionel Messi: Heading the squad is Atlanta United star and Lio's countryman, Thiago Almada.

To be clear, we are not looking down on Almada. He has been phenomenal this season, with seven goals and eight assists. However, after all the noise surrounding Lionel Messi's arrival at Inter Miami, there was hope to see at least a glimpse of his talent during that match.

Besides, Almada was in the same squad as Messi when Argentina won the 2022 World Cup. So, there you go.

Alongside Almada, other notable players on the list are USMNT regulars Walker Zimmerman and Jesus Ferreira and 2022 MLS MVP Hani Mukhtar.

MLS All-Star Game roster vs Arsenal

Managed by D.C. United coach Wayne Rooney, here is the MLS All-Star full squad:

Goalkeepers: Roman Burki (St. Louis City), Tyler Miller (D.C. United), Djordje Petrovic (New England Revolution)

Defenders: Alvaro Barreal (FC Cincinnati), Jon Gallagher (Austin FC), Ryan Hollingshead (LAFC), Matt Miazga (FC Cincinnati), Tim Parker (St. Louis City), John Tolkin (New York Red Bulls), Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC)

Midfielders: Luciano Acosta (FC Cincinnati), Thiago Almada (Atlanta United), Mathieu Choiniere (CF Montreal), Hector Herrera (Houston Dynamo), Jose Martinez (Philadelphia Union), Aidan Morris (Columbus Crew), Hany Mukhtar (Nashville SC), Riqui Puig (Los Angeles Galaxy), Lucas Zelarayan (Columbus Crew)

Forwards: Christian Benteke (D.C. United), Denis Bouanga (LAFC), Cristian Espinoza (San Jose Earthquakes), Jesus Ferreira (FC Dallas), Giorgos Giakoumakis (Atlanta United), Kei Kamara (Chicago Fire), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders)

Videos you might like