Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: nid in views_handler_field_term_node_tid->pre_render() (line 98 of /var/www/html/docroot/sites/all/modules/views/modules/taxonomy/
  • Notice: Undefined index: nid in views_handler_field_term_node_tid->pre_render() (line 98 of /var/www/html/docroot/sites/all/modules/views/modules/taxonomy/


How does the Copa America work? A guide for newcomers planning to watch next summer

One of the most exciting tournaments in the world is returning to the United States.

The Copa America will be back in the United States and will — like in the Copa America Centenario in 2016 — feature six guest nations from Concacaf but now as part of the federation’s “strategic collaboration agreement to strengthen and develop football in both regions” with CONMEBOL that was announced earlier this summer.

The collaboration also includes the Concacaf Women's Gold Cup and a new club competition.

The 48th edition of the Copa America will be held across the United States between June 20 and July 14, 2024.

How will the 2024 Copa America work? Who will play in the 2024 Copa America?

The 2024 Copa America will be played with the same format as the last time the U.S. hosted the tournament in 2016, with one minor change.

As opposed to the 2016 edition, all Concacaf teams — including the host USA — invited to participate, will need to go through a qualification process to book their spot in next year’s tournament.

These are the nations confirmed to be playing in the 2024 Copa America USA.

  •  Argentina (title holders)
  •  Bolivia
  •  Brazil
  •  Chile
  •  Colombia
  •  Ecuador
  •  Paraguay
  •  Peru
  •  Uruguay
  •  Venezuela
  • TBD Concacaf
  • TBD Concacaf
  • TBD Concacaf
  • TBD Concacaf
  • TBC Concacaf
  • TBC Concacaf

Seeded pots and group stage

Embed from Getty Images

When all of Concacaf’s participants are qualified, all 16 teams playing in the tournament (10 CONMEBOL and six Concacaf) will be placed into four groups consisting of four teams each.

Teams will be seeded according to their official FIFA Ranking between November and December 2023 and separated into one of four pots in the draw.

The group seeds and match schedule will be announced in December 2023, whereas the group stage draw will be held on Dec. 7, 2023.

Knockout rounds

Embed from Getty Images

The first and second placed teams from each group will qualify to the next round.

All eight qualified teams will play a single-elimination knockout round beginning at the quarterfinal stage all they up to the final.

Teams that qualify to the semifinal stage but lose, will be playing another match for third place.



Embed from Getty Images

Officially annouced by CONMEBOL, there are two confirmed venues for next year's tournament in the United States.

The innaugural match of the Copa America on June 20 will be held at Atlanta United's Mercedes Benz Stadium in Georgia, a match that will most likely feature the United States against another top-tier team from South America.

The final of the tournament on July 14 will be played at the Hard Rock in Miami, home to the NFL's Miami Dolphins.

The rest of the stadiums, cities and venues for the entire tournament are yet to be announced.

However, and considering the tournament has been labeled as a “trial-run” for the United States' co-hosting of the upcoming World Cup, we can expect most, if not all venues for the 2024 Copa America, to also be part of the venues chosen for the 2026 World Cup.

Videos you might like