Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: nid in views_handler_field_term_node_tid->pre_render() (line 98 of /var/www/html/docroot/sites/all/modules/views/modules/taxonomy/
  • Notice: Undefined index: nid in views_handler_field_term_node_tid->pre_render() (line 98 of /var/www/html/docroot/sites/all/modules/views/modules/taxonomy/


Concacaf and CONMEBOL announce partnership that brings 2024 Copa América to USA and more

Concacaf and CONMEBOL announced the signing of a strategic partnership that will bring the 2024 Copa América to the United States and more. The partnership was put in place in an effort to strengthen the two regions.

The agreement includes three major tournaments: the 2024 Copa América (hosted in the U.S.), the 2024 Concacaf W Gold Cup (hosted in the U.S.) and a new club competition featuring a “final four” format.

Here are the details for each tournament.

2024 Copa América

Next summer American fans will get to see the Copa América on U.S. soil for the first time since the 2016 edition. The 2024 tournament will have a total of 16 nations competing with 10 South American teams and six from Concacaf.

The six Concacaf teams will be decided through the 2023-24 Concacaf Nations League. The exact details aren’t out but it seems likely that the four group winners in League A and the two best runners-up would be the six nations to qualify.

The venues for the 2024 Copa América are TBD, but they will probably be the same stadiums that will host 2026 World Cup games. Next summer’s tournament can serve as trial run for the World Cup.

2024 Concacaf W Gold Cup

2024 will also see the new Concacaf W Gold Cup. In 2022 the competition was called the Concacaf W Championship, featured eight teams and was hosted in Mexico.

Next year the 2024 Concacaf W Gold Cup will be held in the United States and have 12 teams (eight from Concacaf and four from CONMEBOL). The four CONMEBOL teams were determined by the 2022 Women’s Copa América results.

Brazil, Colombia, Argentina and Paraguay will be the four women’s teams competing in the 2024 Concacaf W Gold Cup.

As for the eight Concacaf nations, the two teams that will play in the 2024 Paris Olympics qualify automatically. This means the USWNT is the only Concacaf women’s team that already has a spot in the W Gold Cup after winning last year’s Concacaf W Championship. 

Canada and Jamaica will play in September 2023 to determine who goes to the Olympics and gets an automatic spot in the W Gold Cup.

The other six Concacaf teams will qualify through the 2023 Road to Concacaf W Gold Cup.

New Club Competition

Expected to debut in 2024, there will be a new club competition featuring four teams. Two of the top club teams from Concacaf will face off against two of CONMEBOL’s best. Clubs will qualify for this tournament through existing competitions.

The host nation for this club competition is TBD.

Videos you might like