Women's Soccer

Canadian Star Ashley Lawrence Opts For PSG Over The NWSL

The NWSL could use a positive headline in the next few weeks. First, the NWSL lost its biggest star in Alex Morgan, who is moving to play at Lyon through the summer. Her parent club, the Orlando Pride, will open their brand new stadium without their biggest attraction. 

Crystal Dunn Is Leaving The Washington Spirit For Chelsea

Crystal Dunn is one of the most explosive players in the USWNT player pool and has been one of the best players in the NWSL in the past few seasons.

Now she's heading to England to play for Chelsea, following USWNT teammate Alex Morgan (at Lyon in France) to Europe.

Looking Ahead To 2017 For The USWNT And NWSL

2016 was a great year for the NWSL as the league marked a record fourth season for professional women’s soccer in America. Meanwhile, the US Women’s National Team had a disappointing year, finishing medal-less in Rio following the high of winning the World Cup in 2015. 

Here is a look at the key dates throughout 2017 for both the league and the national team: 

January 1st - Collective Bargaining Agreement Ended

NWSL League Office Makes Big Addition As Teams Remain Quiet

In the weeks around the holidays the NWSL has been fairly quiet in player movement or league news. However, the league office made a big addition last week, and one that cost the USL a successful leader.

Last week the NWSL announced the Amanda Duffy would become the new managing director of operations for the league. Duffy joins the NWSL leaving a great position at a rising USL franchise, Louisville City FC.

How Will Alex Morgan's Move To Lyon Affect The NWSL?

For the past few years Alex Morgan has been the face of the women’s game. Not just the United States Women’s National Team, or the NWSL, but the entire sport. Abby Wambach, Hope Solo, Carli Lloyd and Megan Rapinoe have all been major stars for past two World Cup cycles, as well as newsworthy, but Morgan is the most marketable star on the USWNT, the player advertisers want, young players are admiring and the face of the league. 

Barcelona And US Soccer Are Talking About NWSL Expansion

In the ever-evolving world that is US Soccer expansion, attraction to the game is just as important as on the field product at the moment. Sure, everyone wants to see two teams playing the beautiful game on great pitches and new soccer-specific stadiums. But for the NWSL, national media attention, television coverage and the need to connect to the general public are far more important for the young league. 

The Fight For Pay In African Women’s Soccer

The 2016 Africa Women Cup of Nations, the biennial tournament contested by the women’s national teams of Africa to decide the continent’s champion, ended on December 3 — the date of the final in Yaounde, Cameroon.

The tournament was won by Nigeria for a record-setting 10th time. The Super Falcons finished the tournament undefeated, scoring 13 goals and only conceding one in five matches. Players like Asisat Oshoala, Desire Oparanozie and Osinachi Ohale were national heroes, and they’d accomplished this all without having ever been paid.

The English FA Has Some Very Bad Ideas For Bringing Girls Into Soccer

The FA, in its infinite wisdom, has decided there needs to be more girls playing the beautiful game in England. This in and of itself is a reasonable thing to want. Gender equality is good and the FA should want that. 

What is not reasonable or good is the document they made full of suggestions on how to get more females playing soccer.

Specifically, these suggestions were clearly not written by women, or girls, or anyone who has ever met a woman or girl.

Which USWNT Star Should Win Player Of The Year?

It’s about that time again! U.S. Soccer has announced this year’s nominees for the 2016 U.S. Soccer Awards. The Player of the Year award is the highest honor a player can receive in the United States. The award for Male Player of the Year dates back to 1984 and 1985 for the Female Player of the Year. Tune in to ESPNFC on December 11, 2016 to find out who takes home this year’s title.